Synch Google Drive With Mac

  1. How To Sync Google Drive
  2. Sync Google Drive With Pc
  3. Google Drive App Not Syncing
  4. Automatically Sync Files To Google Drive
  5. How To Sync Google Drive Folder On Mac

After you install the Backup and Sync app from Google on your Windows or Mac, a folder will be created and used to sync with files and folders from your Google Drive.

You want to change the location of this Google Drive folder, right? In this article, I will show you how to do so, on both Windows and Mac.

With the Google Backup & Sync app installed on your computer, all the files in your online Google Drive automatically download and sync with the Google Drive folder saved on your computer. Any changes you make to the files are uploaded, and edits made on other devices update the files on your folder.

1. Mac

Here are different ways of sharing files on Google Drive and OneDrive: Method 1: The Basic Way to sync Google Drive with OneDrive. Sign in with your Google Drive account. Select the file you want to sync and click the “Download” button to download it to your computer. Sign in with your OneDrive account. Click the “+New” button to add. Here in this article, we are specifically talking about adding Google Drive to Mac Finder. So let’s get started with it! Download “Backup & Sync” from the web. The very first step on adding Google Drive to Mac finder is to download Google Drive on your Mac. It is important to download “Backup & Sync” from Google Drive. Being able to sync files easily between any device — even with a Mac or smartphone — is one of the many benefits of using Google Drive. Final Thoughts: How to Stop Google Drive Sync. Google has discontinued using the Backup and Sync application and introduced Google Drive for desktop to provide a powerful, unified and uninterrupted sync service for all the users. Just like Backup and Sync, Google Drive for desktop also allows us to easily sync our data across all our devices and the Cloud.

Google Drive is a free way to keep your files backed up and easy to reach from any phone, tablet, or computer. Start with 15GB of Google storage – free.

By default, the Google Drive folder is located in Users/[your username]/Google Drive. Here’s how to move it to a different volume on Mac, or any location you want.

Synch

Method 1:

1- Click the Backup & Sync icon on the menu bar. Click the three-dot icon, then choose Preferences.

2- Select “Settings” from the left sidebar, then click “Disconnect Account”. Synced files will still remain on your computer.

3- Sign in again by clicking the icon in the menu bar. If it disappears, you can run it by typing “Backup & Sync from Google” in Spotlight Search. Now you can configure everything from scratch, including choosing the folder location.

4- Google Drive will sync your files and folders to the new folder. You can delete the old Google Drive folders to avoid duplication.

Method 2:

1- Click the Backup & Sync icon on the menubar. Then click the Three-dot icon, select “Quit Backup & Sync”.

2- Remove the Google Drive folder, or simply rename it.

3- Open Backup and Sync from Google. An error message saying that it can’t find the folder will pop up.

4- Now you’re able to change the Google Drive folder to another location.

2. Windows

On Windows, you also have two similar methods to change the location of the Google Drive folder.

Method 1:

1- Click on the Google Drive icon in your system tray (usually in the bottom right corner of the screen)

2- Click the three-dot icon -> Preferences.

3- In the Settings tab, choose “Disconnect account”.

4- Click on the Google Drive icon from the system tray then sign in again with your account.

How To Sync Google Drive

5- Click Next at Welcome to Google Drive. When seeing a screen with the option named Advanced Setup. Click on it, you will be able to choose the new folder location.

6- Click Start Sync.

Method 2:

1- Click on the Google Drive’s Backup & Sync icon in your system tray.

2- Clikc on the three-dot button. Select Quit Backup and Sync.

3- Remove the default Google Drive folder or move it to another location or rename it.

4- Search for Backup and Sync in the search bar and run this application.

5- Since the path to the folder has changed, the app will tell you that it can’t find the folder. A window will pop up, letting you choose a new location.

Dan is a web developer, a digital nomad, and a lifelong Apple fan. At iPhonebyte, his job is to help you get the most out of your iOS and Mac devices. Read the story about him and the website here.

The latest version of Google Drive for Windows and Mac OS X allows you to selectively sync folders and subfolders. We show you how to use it, so you can save storage space on your PC.

Selective folder sync menu in Google Drive for Mac

Google Drive Sync Mac Folder

Google Drive has had the ability to selectively sync folders for a decent time now, but it was annoyingly limited since you could only select folders, but not selective subfolders. The latest update to Google Drive for both Windows and Mac OS X now allows you to do just that.

The use case for this option is simple: your Google Drive can have several terabytes of files on it, while chances are your laptop or desktop doesn’t have as much free space lying around. With the new option, you can save precious space by selectively syncing only the folders and subfolders you need locally, while keeping the rest in the cloud.

It’s really simple to use. To enable selective subfolder syncing, click on the three-dot menu in the Google Drive app’s interface, go to Preferences > Sync Options. From here, select the Sync only these folders option, and choose which folders and subfolders you want or do not want to sync locally to your Windows PC or Mac.

How Does Selective Syncing Work?

Sync Google Drive With Pc

Sync

Google Drive App Not Syncing

When you remove some folders and some subfolders from syncing locally, they will be kept as-is on your Google Drive, but changes will obviously not be pushed to your PC. Similarly, any changes you make to these specified folders on your PC will not show up on Google Drive. You must add them again to get syncing working again.

My own Google Drive storage is a meagre 15GB, and I keep it for my active work documents so I don’t mind syncing all folders. This feature is thus nice to have, but I won’t be using it.

As part of this latest version of Google Drive, you will also be informed when you delete a file or folder that you’ve shared with someone else. I know this will be used regularly, since I like to clean up my storage every now and then. There have been plenty of cases where I’ve deleted important shared documents, only to find out several days later that it caused my team-mates much inconvenience.

Automatically Sync Files To Google Drive

If you haven’t yet received the update, hold tight. It is being rolled out over the weekend. You ought to have it on your Windows / Mac soon!

How To Sync Google Drive Folder On Mac

Related posts: